THANK YOU, CARRIE FISHER.

Only two celebrity deaths has fully hit home to me: Robin Williams and as of today, Carrie Fisher. It sucks that we lost her because she was such a strong, witty, and smart woman. She carried herself unapologetically with such great confidence and power and never conformed to what Hollywood told her she was.Β As a Star Wars fan I feel like I’d just lost someone so close to me; like a mother or a sister or a friend. I lost a role model who I cared for and loved so dearly.

Carrie battled with addiction, mental illness, sexism, ageism, and body shaming, and she survived through all of them. She was very open about her mental illness and talked about it in great depths that will forever have a big impact on me and many others. She taught me how to be a strong woman despite of being seen as weak and being seen as the damsel in distress – the one that always had to be saved. She taught me that I can save myself, that I can become who I want to become when I rise above hate. She taught me that being a princess doesn’t mean that I had to be saved, because I can save myself. She killed her oppressors using the chains they put on her (literally, I mean look at Jabba the Hut). She taught me to resist and fight for myself, to be bold and truthful and loud and own myself and everything I do. She taught me to be open about my mental health, that it’s okay to suffer from these things and that getting help is important. She taught me that girls can be anything. That’s the Carrie Fisher I know.

She wasn’t only Princess Leia, she’s an author, a screenwriter, an actress, a mother. She was so much more and she had such huge impact on Hollywood and I will be forever thankful to have known her even through a movie screen. She deserved the world and I lover and owe her so much.

Carrie is the brightest star in the galaxy and I am sure that the Force is with her.

Thank you, Carrie Fisher, for everything you have done, for the impact you’ve created and will continue to create even after you’re gone. You will always be the strong, funny, witty woman we grew up to.

We love you and you know.

Leave a Reply

